Adams-Clermont Solid Waste District

Established in 1990, the Adams-Clermont Solid Waste District (ACSWD) is a two-county joint solid waste management district comprised of Adams County and Clermont County. The Adams-Clermont Solid Waste District is one of 52 solid waste management districts in Ohio and is the only district containing two non-contiguous counties, encompassing 1,046 square miles. Pursuant to the Ohio Revised Code, the Solid Waste District is tasked with preparing and implementing the Solid Waste Management Plan for Clermont and Adams Counties. Some of the programs the Solid Waste District is responsible for include:

  • designating landfills with enough disposal capacity for waste generated in Adams and Clermont Counties
  • ensuring residents have access to adequate solid waste disposal capacity
  • complying with the goals established in the state solid waste management plan
  • providing enough recycling opportunities for 80% of the population
  • managing scrap tire disposal and illegal dumps
  • recycling and litter prevention education
  • roadside litter clean-up activities
  • household hazardous waste disposal
  • Adams County Waste and Recycling transfer station

The District is funded by a $4.00 per ton generation fee on all waste originating from Clermont or Adams Counties. The majority of the fees collected are used to support the growing demand for recycling services/drop-off recycling locations in Clermont and Adams Counties, as well as roadside litter removal activities.

The District holds quarterly meetings with the Board of Directors which is seated by the County Commissioners from both Adams and Clermont Counties.  These meetings are open to the public, and the meeting dates are posted on the Solid Waste District’s website at